Arkansas Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Arkansas, an ignition interlock device (IID) is required for all alcohol-related convictions, including first-time offenses. The offender is responsible for any and all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense DWI in Arkansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for a period determined by the courts. The offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID starting 30 days from the arrest. The restricted driving permit will be required for six additional months after the 30 day suspension. The offender will be required to serve 24 hours to one year in jail or community service, pay all applicable fines, complete an alcohol education or treatment program, attend a victim impact panel and install an IID to regain their license.

In the case of a second offense DWI in Arkansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for 24 months. The offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID. The restricted driving permit will be required for the remainder of the suspension. The offender will be required to serve seven days to one year in jail or community service, pay all applicable fines, complete an alcohol education or treatment program, attend a victim impact panel and install an IID to regain their license.

In the case of a third offense DWI in Arkansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for 30 months. The offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID after 12 months. The restricted driving permit will be required for the remainder of the suspension. The offender will be required to serve 90 days to one year in jail, serve a minimum of 90 days community service, pay all applicable fines, complete an alcohol education or treatment program, attend a victim impact panel and install an IID to regain their license.

In the case of a fourth offense DWI in Arkansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for 48 months. The offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID. The restricted driving permit will be required for the remainder of the suspension. The offender will be required to serve 1 to 6 years in jail, serve a minimum of 12 months community service, pay all applicable fines, complete an alcohol education or treatment program, attend a victim impact panel and install an IID to regain their license.

The implied consent law in Arkansas states that any person who operates a motor vehicle, by default, gives their consent to a blood, urine or breath test to determine if they are under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. If the offender refused to submit a chemical test of blood, breath or urine, their license will automatically be suspended for 180 days on your first offense. You will also be denied the possibility of receiving an ignition interlock restricted license.

Additional resources in Arkansas can be found on the Arkansas License Information FAQ here.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements