California Ignition Interlock Information

The requirements for an ignition interlock device (IID) in the state of California are determined by the court after being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). If required, an IID is required in every vehicle operated by the offender other than those owned by an employer. Employer owned vehicles will need prior consent from the owner as well as carry a copy of the restriction order to be able to drive the vehicle.

In the case of a first offense DUI in California, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of six months. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, the offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID. The offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve 48 hours to six months in jail, provide proof of financial responsibility and provide proof of enrollment in a DUI program.

In the case of a second offense DUI in California, the offender’s license will be suspended for two to three years. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, the offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID after 90 days. The offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, provide proof of enrollment into at least an 18 month DUI program, provide proof of financial responsibility and clear all other outstanding suspension/revocations on their driving record.

In the case of a third offense DUI in California, the offender’s license will be suspended for three to five years. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, the offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID within six months. The offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, provide proof of enrollment into at least an 18 month DUI program, provide proof of financial responsibility and clear all other outstanding suspension/revocations on their driving record.

The court may order you to install an ignition interlock with or without a DMV connection. You will be provided with a court order at the time of your hearing and it will specify when you need to install your IID and how long you will need it. Installing an IID as a requirement for a court order does not give you driving privileges. To be eligible to drive, you must have a restricted driver’s license through the CA DMV.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements