Connecticut Ignition Interlock Information

An ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for anyone convicted of Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in the state of Connecticut. The offender is responsible for any and all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense OUI in Connecticut, the offender’s license will be suspended for 45 days. After the 45 day suspension, the offender must install an IID for one year. In the case of a second offense OUI in Connecticut, the offender’s license will be suspended for 45 days. After the 45 day suspension, the offender must install an IID for three years. The offender will be required to pay all applicable fines and complete IID Program requirements.

In the case of a third offense OUI in Connecticut, the offender’s license will be subject to permanent revocation. The offender may request a hearing after serving at least two years of revocation.

Ignition Interlock Program Requirements

  • Submit a check or money order for a $175 restoration fee to the DMV
  • Obtain valid registration
  • Serve required license suspension period
  • Complete part one of the Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application, Form P-246, and submit a check or money order for a $100 administration fee to the DMV
  • Wait for approval to arrive via mail with your approved P-246 form and an authorization for installation of an BAIID device
  • Resolve any outstanding matters concerning your operator's license suspension
  • Mail completed P-246 form to the DMV for restoration of operator's license

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements