Georgia Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Georgia, an ignition interlock device (IID) is required for all repeat alcohol-related DUI convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense DUI in Georgia, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 120 days. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, attend a DUI School and present a Certificate of Completion, and submit payment for license reinstatement.

In the case of a second offense DUI in Georgia, the offender’s license will be suspended for 18 months. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, the offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID after 120 days. To obtain this restricted driving permit, the offender will first need to get permission from the court. The offender will then be required to serve a 120 day license revocation, pay all applicable fines, attend a DUI School and present a Certificate of Completion, complete a clinical evaluation and treatment and submit payment for license reinstatement.

In the case of a third or subsequent offense DUI in Georgia, the offender’s license will be suspended for five years. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, the offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an IID after two years. To obtain this restricted driving permit, the offender will first need to get permission from the court. The offender will then be required to serve a two year license revocation, pay all applicable fines, attend a DUI School and present a Certificate of Completion, complete a clinical evaluation and treatment and submit payment for license reinstatement.

Reinstatement Information

Contact the Department of Driver Services at (678) 413-8400, or toll-free (866) 754-3687 (Georgia Non-Metropolitan Atlanta Area). Available Monday through Friday, 7:00 AM – 5:15 PM to assist with reinstatement information.

OR

Submit a letter requesting reinstatement requirements to:

Georgia Department of Driver Services
PO Box 80447
Conyers, GA 30013

Request must contain name as it appears on driver’s license, license number, date of birth, correct mailing address and signature.

OR

Visit the DDS Customer Service Centers that offer full reinstatement. A full list of locations and hours of operation is available here.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements