Idaho Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Idaho, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for any repeat alcohol-related DUI convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense DUI in Idaho, the offender’s license will be suspended for 90 to 180 days. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines and serve up to six months in jail.

In the case of a second offense DUI in Idaho within ten years, the offender’s license will be suspended for one year following confinement. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve up to 1 year in jail and install an IID.

In the case of a third offense DUI in Idaho within ten years, the offender’s license will be suspended for one to five years following confinement. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve up to one year in jail and install an IID.

If the offender was convicted of an aggravated DUI in Idaho, their license will be suspended for one to five years following their 30 day to 15 year sentence and pay all applicable fines.

Restricted Driving Permit

An offender may qualify for a restricted permit that would allow you to drive to and from work, medical treatments, etc. To apply for a restricted permit through the Idaho Department of Transportation, the offender must apply to the court in which they were convicted. However, if the offender is an Idaho driver and are convicted in an out-of-state court, they must apply directly to the Idaho Department of Transportation. In order to obtain the restricted driving permit, they may be required to complete a work verification form, submit a letter from their doctor describing the need for treatment, provide a valid certificate of liability or file an SR22 certificate and pay all applicable fees depending on the circumstances.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements