Illinois Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Illinois, a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) is required for all alcohol-related DUI convictions. However, the offender may be able to regain limited driving privileges with a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) with the installation of a BAIID. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the BAIID.

In the case of a first offense DUI in Illinois, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of one year. The offender may be able to receive their RDP after one month with the installation of a BAIID. The offender will also be required to pay all applicable fines, perform a minimum of 100 hours of community service, provide proof of completion of an alcohol evaluation session, complete an alcohol remedial education course or treatment program and carry high-risk auto insurance for three years.

In the case of a second and third offense DUI in Illinois, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of five years or ten years respectively. The offender may be able to receive their RDP after they have served their revocation suspension. The offender will also be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a 5-90 day prison sentence and/or 240 hours of community service, provide proof of completion of an alcohol evaluation session, complete an alcohol remedial education course or treatment program, carry high-risk auto insurance for three years and install a BAIID on all vehicles registered for 12 consecutive months.

To obtain a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) the offender must prove a hardship exists and their driving record will be reviewed. This permit will only allow the offender to drive according to the restrictions outlined in their permit by the IL Secretary of State.

If the Department of Administrative Hearings has approved the request for an RDP, the offender will receive a letter from the IL Secretary of State outlining the requirements that will need to be fulfilled within 60 days. This may include the offender providing proof of high-risk auto insurance, completion of a driver’s license examination, employment verification and payment of all applicable fees.

Once the RDP is received, the offender will have 14 days to install a BAIID. The device must be installed on all the vehicles that the offender wishes to drive during their suspension.

Additional resources in Illinois can be found here:

BAIID Information

Monitoring Device Driving Permit Information

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements