Kansas Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Kansas, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related Driving Under the Influence (DUI) convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense DUI in Kansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for one year. The offender may be able to obtain a restricted driving permit after 30 days of suspension. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a minimum of 48 hour jail sentence and provide proof of IID installation.

In the case of a second offense DUI in Kansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for one year. Following the one year suspension, the offender must then only drive vehicles equipped with IID for another year. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a minimum of 90 days in jail, complete a court ordered treatment program and provide proof of IID installation.

In the case of a third and subsequent offense DUI in Kansas, the offender’s license will be suspended for one year. Following the one year suspension, the offender must then only drive vehicles equipped with IID for an additional two to ten years. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a minimum of 90 day to one year in jail, complete a court ordered treatment program and provide proof of IID installation.

If the offended has refused a chemical test for either drugs or alcohol, they will need to install an ignition interlock in order to regain driving privileges. In addition, if the offender’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.15% or greater, they will be required to install an IID. The above requirements must be completed for the corresponding offense. Each refusal will result in a license suspension for one year followed by either a one, two or three year restricted license with an IID respectively.

Additional resources in Kansas can be found here:

IID Installation/Removal Verification Form

Revocation/Suspension FAQ

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements