Kentucky Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Kentucky, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related DUI convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense DUI in Kentucky, the offender’s license will be suspended for 30 to 120 days. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a 2 to 30 day jail sentence, complete 90 days of alcohol or substance abuse program and possible 2 to 30 days of community labor.

In the case of a second offense DUI in Kentucky within a five year period, the offender’s license will be suspended for 12 to 18 months. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a seven day to six month jail sentence, complete one year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment, forfeit license plates to the court during license suspension period, complete ten days to six months of community labor and, if required, install an IID for the length determined by the court.

In the case of a third offense DUI in Kentucky within a five year period, the offender’s license will be suspended for two to five years. To regain their license, the offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a one to six month jail sentence, complete one year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment, forfeit license plates to the court during license suspension period, complete ten days to 12 months of community labor and, if required, install an IID for the length determined by the court.

Aggravating circumstances result in a higher minimum jail time than a normal offense. An offender will be convicted of aggravating circumstances if were driving over 30 MPH over the speed limit, driving the wrong way on a limited access highway, caused an accident resulting in death or serious physical injury, submitted an alcohol level of 0.15% or more within two hours after operating, refused to submit to testing or were transporting passenger under 12 years of age.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements