Maryland Ignition Interlock Information

If you were convicted of a Driving Under the Influence/Driving While Intoxicated (DUI/DWI) in Maryland, your license will be suspended or revoked. You may be eligible or required to participate in the ignition interlock program and have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed. The decision of participation and the length in which you must participate is determined by Maryland District Court, Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) and the Medical Advisory Board (MAB).

The Motor Vehicle Administration's Administrative Adjudication Division (ADD) may also offer or require a driver to participate in this program depending on the number of points on one's license, whether they are a repeat offender or have previously violated an imposed alcohol-related driving restriction.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI): A DWI charge in Maryland is when an offender is charged with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.07.

If you were convicted of a first offense DWI in Maryland, you will receive a notice of suspension and your license will be suspended for 60 days. (eight points on your license) In order to regain your license, you must pay fines up to $500, serve up to 60 days in jail and accept up to a 60 day license suspension and return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before your suspension date shown in your notice.

If you were convicted of a second offense DWI in Maryland within a five year period, your license will be suspended up to 120 days. (eight points on your license) In order to regain your license, you must pay fines up to $500, serve up to 120 days in jail and accept up to a 120 day license suspension and return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before your suspension date shown in your notice.

If you were convicted of a third offense DWI in Maryland within a five year period, your license will be suspended up to one year. (eight points on your license) In order to regain your license, you must pay fines up to $500, serve up to one year in jail and accept up to a one year license suspension and return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before your suspension date shown in your notice.

In any offense situation you also have the choice of requesting a hearing to show cause why suspension should not be imposed, complete and return the notice with the filing fee within 15 days of the notice date. The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) will notify you of the location, date and time for your hearing or you may apply to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program. By installing a state approved ignition interlock device and participating in the program your license will not be suspended, however your driving privileges will be restricted.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI): A DUI charge in Maryland is when an offender is charged with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or greater

If you were convicted of a first offense DUI in Maryland, your license will be revoked for six months. (12 points on your license) In order to regain your license, you must pay fines up to $1,000, serve up to one year in jail and accept up to a six month license suspension and return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before your suspension date shown in your notice. Or, you may apply to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program. By installing an ignition interlock device and participating in the program your license will not be suspended, however your driving privileges will be restricted.

If you were convicted of a second offense DUI in Maryland within a five year period, your license will be revoked for 12 months. You will be required to install an ignition interlock for a minimum of one year. (12 points on license) In order to regain your license, you must pay fines up to $2,000, serve up to two years in jail (mandatory minimum of five days) and accept up to a one year license suspension and return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before your suspension date shown in your notice. Once suspension period has been served you're driving privileges will be restricted for one year so that you can only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device.

If you were convicted of a third offense DUI in Maryland, your license will be revoked for 18 months. (12 points on your license) You will be required to install an ignition interlock for a minimum of one year. (12 points on license) In order to regain your license, you must pay fines up to $3,000, serve up to three years in jail and accept up to an 18 month license revocation and return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before your suspension date shown in your notice. Once suspension period has been served you're driving privileges will be restricted for one year so that you can only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device.

Or with a second or third conviction, you may also apply to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program. By installing an ignition interlock device and participating in the program your license will be suspended for only 45 days followed by 320 days of ignition interlock restriction. Once suspension period has been served you're driving privileges will remain restricted for one year so that you can only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device. In any offense situation you also have the choice of requesting a hearing to show cause why suspension should not be imposed, complete and return the notice with the filing fee within 15 days of the notice date. The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) will notify you of the location, date and time for your hearing.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements