Massachusetts Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Massachusetts, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related Operating Under the Influence (OUI) convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense OUI in Massachusetts, the offender’s license will be suspended for 45 days to one year. The offender may be eligible for the 24D or 90-24D Program and be able to apply for a Hardship License. The offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a jail sentence of up to two and a half years, and enroll in and complete the Alcohol Education Program known as the 24D program.

First offenders may have the option of attending the 24D alcohol education program as an alternative to a lengthier license loss, heavier fine and possible incarceration. The 24D program is generally consider for first offenders, although multiple offenders may still qualify for the program.

In the case of a second or subsequent offense OUI in Massachusetts, the offender’s license will be suspended for at least two years. The offender may be eligible to apply for a Hardship License after three months to eight years depending on the offense and will be required for the entire period of your Hardship License. The offender will be required to pay all applicable fines, serve a jail sentence of 60 days to five years, complete a 140 day in-patient treatment program and install an IID for two years on every vehicle owned or operated.

The State of Massachusetts offers the opportunity for OUI offenders to apply for a Hardship License. An offender may immediately upon entering a driver alcohol education program apply to the RMV for consideration of a limited license based on hardship purposes.

To qualify for a hardship license, the offender must enroll in the 24D program and bring to the RMV all required documents. Although an applicant may meet all requirements, issuance of a hardship license is only granted at the reasonable discretion of the RMV, based on the facts of the case.

If the offender has two or more OUI convictions and is eligible for a hardship license, they must install an IID for the length of the Hardship License in every vehicle owned or operated. The offender must also use the IID for an additional two years after their license is reinstated.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements