Michigan Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Michigan, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense OWI in Michigan, the offender’s license will be suspended for 30 days. The offender may be ordered to pay all applicable fines, serve a jail sentence of up to 90 days, complete up to 360 hours of community service, serve a 150 day license restriction following the 30 day suspension, vehicle immobilization and install an IID.

In the case of a second and subsequent offense OWI in Michigan, the officer will destroy the metal plates on the vehicle, regardless of the register owner, and provide the offender with a temporary paper plate until the arrest is resolved in court. The offender will be ordered to pay all applicable fines, a five day to five year jail sentence, complete up to 180 days of community service, serve on probation with 30 days to one year in jail, serve a license suspension of one to five years, possible vehicle immobilization or forfeiture for up to three years and install an IID.

Offenders are consider Habitual Offenders if they have been convicted of two or more convictions within seven years, or three or more convictions within ten years.

If convicted as a habitual offender, the offender may apply for an Administrative Hearings Section to be considered for a driver license. The offender may obtain information about the hearing from their order of revocation or denial, instructions sent to them after they request a hearing or a recorded message with instructions by calling (888) 767-6424.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements