Montana Ignition Interlock Information

In the State of Montana, first-time offenders of the State’s driving under the influence (DUI) laws may be granted a probationary license by the court. An ignition interlock probationary license allows the offender to drive to specific places, such as work or school. One of the conditions of being granted a probationary license may be the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in all vehicles operated by the offender. The IID must be installed, serviced and removed by a state-authorized service provider at the offender’s expense. First-time offenders are not eligible for a probationary license if their license is suspended or revoked in another state.

If you were arrested for a first offense DUI in Montana, your license will be suspended for six months. An ignition interlock probationary license may be available through the installation of an IID and completion of a Chemical Dependency Education Course or Treatment. In order to reinstate your full driving privileges you may need to serve a minimum 24 hours jail time, serve your six month license suspension and pay $300 in fines.

If you were arrested for a second offense DUI in Montana, your license will be suspended for one year. An ignition interlock probationary license may be available after 45 days through the installation of an IID and the completion of a chemical dependency education course or treatment. You will be required to pay for the installation and maintenance of your IID or your vehicle may be seized and subject to forfeiture. If you were arrested for a third offense DUI in Montana, your ignition interlock probationary license may be available after one year.

In order to reinstate your driving privileges after a second offense DUI in Montana, you may need to serve a minimum seven day jail time, serve your one year license suspension and pay $600 in fines. A third offense DUI will re quire a minimum 30 day jail time and up to $1000 in fines.

If you are caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked in Montana, you may be subject to imprisonment for a minimum of two days and up to six months as well as a minimum of $500 in fines. You will also have six conviction points added to your Montana Motor Vehicle Record and an additional year added on to the required period of driver’s license suspension or revocation you have already incurred.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, feel free to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements