New Hampshire Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of New Hampshire, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense DWI in New Hampshire, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of nine months. To regain their driving privileges, the offender must first pay all applicable fees, participate in Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) and fulfill necessary requirements and provide proof of SR-22 Insurance. The offender may also be required to install an IID depending on the case details.

If the offender was convicted of a first offense Aggravated DWI they must complete all requirement for a first offense in addition to serving a minimum ten day jail sentence, pay a fine of $750, serve a minimum of an 18 month suspension and install an IID for a minimum of one year by court order.

In the case of a second offense DWI in New Hampshire, the offender’s license will be suspended for three years. In addition, the offender must serve a minimum of 30 days in jail, pay all applicable fees, participate in Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) and fulfill necessary requirements, serve seven days in a Multiple DWI Offender Intervention Detention Center, provide proof of SR-22 Insurance and install an IID for a minimum of one year if ordered by the court.

In the case of a third or subsequent offense DWI in New Hampshire, the offender’s license will be subject to indefinite driver license suspension. The offender may be able to regain driving privileges after seven years and could be ordered to install an IID. To obtain their Hardship Permit, the offender must serve a minimum 180 day jail sentence, pay all applicable fees, participate in Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) and fulfill necessary requirements, provide proof of SR-22 Insurance and install an IID for a minimum of one year if ordered by the court.

Aggravated DWIs result in increased jail time and penalties. Reasons for receiving an Aggravated DWI can include driving 30 MPH or greater over the speed limit, causing a collision resulting in serious injury, attempting to elude a law enforcement officer, have a passenger under the age of 16 years old or have a blood alcohol level of 0.16% or above.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements