Ohio Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Ohio, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related Operating a Vehicle un the Influence (OVI) convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs associated with the IID.

In the case of a first offense OVI in Ohio, the offender’s license will be suspended for up to one year as determined by the court. The offender may be able to receive limited driving privileges with the installation of an IID as determined by the judge. To regain their license, the offender must serve a three day jail sentence with possible house arrest from 30 days to six months, pay all applicable fees and impoundment of their vehicle for 30 days.

In the case of a second offense OVI in Ohio, the offender’s license will be suspended for up to one year as determined by the court. The offender may be able to receive limited driving privileges with the installation of an IID as determined by the judge. To regain their license, the offender must serve a ten day jail sentence with possible house arrest ranging from 90 days to one year, pay all applicable fees and impoundment of their vehicle for 60 days.

In the case of a third or subsequent offense OVI in Ohio within six years, the offender’s license will be suspended for up to one year as determined by the court. The offender may be able to receive limited driving privileges with the installation of an IID as determined by the judge. To regain their license, the offender must serve a 30 day jail sentence with no option of house arrest, pay all applicable fees, and may have to submit to a vehicle forfeiture, criminal forfeiture or court may fine offender the value of the vehicle.

If the offender refused a chemical test, they will need to complete the requirements for the corresponding offense above and the suspension times will vary as follows:

  • 1st refusal (within six years) - one year administrative license suspension (ALS)
  • 2nd refusal (within six years) - two years ALS
  • 3rd refusal (within six years) - three years ALS
  • 4th and subsequent refusals (within six years) - five years ALS

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements