Oklahoma Ignition Interlock Information

In the state of Oklahoma, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for all alcohol-related Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) convictions. The offender is responsible for all costs

A DWI (BAC 0.050 to 0.079) in Oklahoma is a lesser offense than a DUI or aggravated DUI, it will however still affect driving privileges. Depending on the offense, the offender will face a license suspension of 30 days to one year, possible jail time, and fines and fees.

In the case of a first offense DUI in Oklahoma, the offender’s license will be suspended for 180 days. The offender may apply for a modified driver’s license. To receive their modified driver’s license, the offender will need to participate in an alcohol and drug assessment and evaluation prior to sentencing and any additional treatment as required, serve an jail time as ordered and pay all applicable fees.

If the offender refused their test or were convicted of an aggravated DUI (BAC 0.150 or greater), they will need to install an IID for 18 months after their revocation has ended before full driving privileges can be regained.

In the case of a second offense DUI in Oklahoma within ten years, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of one year. The offender will need to participate in an alcohol and drug assessment and evaluation prior to sentencing and any additional treatment as required, serve an jail time as ordered, pay all applicable fees and install an IID for two years after the suspension is over.

In the case of a third or subsequent offense DUI in Oklahoma within ten years, the offender’s license will be suspended for a minimum of three years. The offender will need to participate in an alcohol and drug assessment and evaluation prior to sentencing and any additional treatment as required, serve an jail time as ordered, pay all applicable fees and install an IID for five years after the suspension is over.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements