South Dakota Ignition Interlock Information

In the State of South Dakota, drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) will be required to participate in the South Dakota’s 24/7 Sobriety Program. Participation in this program may include the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). If ordered to install an IID, the device must be installed in each of the participant’s vehicles and the individual is responsible for all costs associated with it. All IIDs must be obtained from an IID vendor who has been approved by South Dakota’s Attorney General. At this time, Intoxalock Ignition Interlock is the exclusive provider of ignition interlock devices for the state. Within twenty-four (24) hours of installing an IID, both the vehicle and necessary documentation must be presented to the agency overlooking the program for verification. An ignition interlock device that is equipped with a camera may be required in the State of South Dakota depending on your case.

If you were convicted of a DUI offense in South Dakota, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 1 year. On a first offense DUI, you will be required to serve a jail sentence of up to one year, pay fines up to $2,000 and you may be required to participate in the 24/7 Sobriety Program. If you were convicted of a second offense DUI you may additionally be required to complete an alcohol treatment program. Your jail sentence may be extended to two years and your fines increased up to $4,000 if you are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense.

Rolling re-tests are standard in IIDs approved by the State of South Dakota. For every breath submission, a photograph of the individual is taken and all data is saved in the device. This information is electronically submitted daily. When the IID is installed by the approved vendor, a maintenance program will be explained to the offender and the individual is responsible for servicing the device at those times. Every ninety (90) days, the individual must submit all IID service documentation to the appropriate agency.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements