Tennessee Ignition Interlock Information

In the State of Tennessee, a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction may result in a court order to install an ignition interlock device (IID). The device must be installed, serviced and removed by an authorized service provider. All costs associated with the use of the IID are the responsibility of the offender, although individuals who demonstrate to the court that the device presents a financial hardship may be given a hardship waiver. All installed IIDs must be serviced at least once every six months. Offenders must submit to the court proof of installation and maintenance.

If you were convicted of a first offense DUI in Tennessee, your license will be suspended for one year. You may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device. To regain your license, you must first serve a 48 hour to 11 month, 29 day jail sentence and a one year license revocation. You will also be required to pay a fine ranging from $350 to $1,500 and participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program.

If you were convicted of a second offense DUI in Tennessee, your license will be suspended for two years. You may obtain a restricted driving permit with the installation of an ignition interlock device after one year. To obtain a restricted driving permit, you must first serve a 45 day to 11 month, 29 day jail sentence and a two year license revocation. You will also be required to pay a fine ranging from $600 to $3,500 and participate in an alcohol or drug treatment program. If you have two or more convictions within five years, an ignition interlock device is required for six months after reinstatement.

If you were convicted of a third offense DUI in Tennessee, your license will be suspended for up to ten years. You may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device. To regain your license, you must first serve a 120 day to 11 month, 29 day jail sentence and a six to ten year license revocation. You will also be required to pay a fine ranging from $1,100 to $10,000 and participate in an alcohol or drug treatment program. Your vehicle may be subject to seizure or forfeiture.

If you were convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense DUI in Tennessee, your license will be suspended for eight years. You may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device. To regain your license, you must first serve a one year, minimum of 150 consecutive days, jail sentence and an eight year license revocation. You will also be required to pay a fine ranging from $3,000 to $15,000 and participate in an alcohol or drug treatment program. Your vehicle may be subject to seizure or forfeiture.

If you were involved in an accident or similar, you may also be required to pay restitution to any person suffering physical injury or personal loss.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements