Utah Ignition Interlock Information

If you were convicted of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Utah, your license will be suspended. Your driver’s license will be confiscated by the arresting officer and replaced with a citation that serves as a temporary license that expires in 29 days. In the State of Utah an ignition interlock device is now mandatory for all DUI convictions. You will need to request a hearing within ten days and fax a hearing request form to the Driver’s License Division at (801) 964-4499. Your driving privileges may be withdrawn on the 30th day after your arrest date.

If you were arrested for a first offense DUI in Utah, your license will be suspended for 120 days on a Per-Se arrest and 18 months if you refused to submit to a chemical test. If you are under the age of 21, you suspension period can be extended to six months and up to two years. If you were arrest for a second or subsequent offense DUI in Utah, your license will be suspended for two years on a Per-Se arrest and 36 months if you refused to submit to a chemical test. You may be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted license.

To obtain driving privileges with an ignition interlock restricted license, you must pay a reinstatement fee to the Driver License Division and install an ignition interlock device for the amount of time specified by you court order. Ignition interlock restricted drivers may not drive any vehicle without an ignition interlock device installed.

Here are some important points to know:

  • Driver records will be updated to show this restriction and you will be notified by mail
  • Law enforcement has access to see ignition interlock restrictions and will issue a citation if a driver is driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock device installed
  • If you are ignition interlock restricted and you do not have a device installed, your driving privileges will be suspended until you have a device installed and you have submitted a reinstatement fee to the Driver License Division
  • If you ignition interlock device is removed prior to ending date of your restriction period your driver’s license will be re-suspended until an ignition interlock is installed and the additional reinstatement fee is paid

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements