Wisconsin Ignition Interlock Information

If you were arrested for drunk driving in Wisconsin and convicted of an OWI (Operating While Intoxicated), your license will be suspended for six months to three years. A first offense conviction will require six to nine months and a second offense conviction will require six to eighteen months. If you are convicted of a third or subsequent OWI you will be suspended for two to three years.

In the State of Wisconsin, individuals convicted of an OWI must use an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicles for a minimum of one year. When court-ordered to use an IID, individuals may apply for a Wisconsin Occupational License. This license allows offenders to operate vehicles with an IID installed. Driving privileges may be restricted to driving to and from work and school and other places required for household maintenance. An IID must be installed on all vehicles, including motorcycles and large trucks. If the court agrees this is a financial hardship, it may exclude one or more vehicles from the order.

The first thing you need to do is visit the Wisconsin DOT or call (608) 266-2261 to verify your eligibility date and specific requirements for your case. Once you know your eligibility date, you will need to submit Forms MV3027 and MV3001, Applications for an Occupational Operator License. Then, you will need to provide proof of identity, citizenship, SR22 insurance (if required), pay all court fines and fees including the non-refundable $50 licensing fee and a $200 reinstatement fee and install an ignition interlock device. If you have two or more OWI convictions, you may be required to provide proof of completion of an alcohol assessment evaluation and participation in a Driver’s Safety Program.

An IID must be installed in all vehicles registered to or owned by the offender. State-authorized service providers must install, maintain, and remove the IIDs at appropriate times. The device must be serviced every sixty (60) days and all costs associated with the use of all IIDs are the responsibility of the offender

If you were arrested for drunk driving and refused the tests, you must install an ignition interlock device to be eligible for a Wisconsin Occupational License. You will need to follow the same procedures as above to get your Wisconsin Occupational License. If it is your first refusal, you suspension length will be one year and you must wait 30 days before applying. A second refusal is a two year suspension and you must wait 90 days, and a third or subsequent refusal will result in a three year suspension length and you must wait 120 days before applying for your Wisconsin Occupational License.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements