Wyoming Ignition Interlock Information

If you were convicted of a DUI in Wyoming, your license will be suspended. It is possible to regain your restricted driving privileges with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).

If you were convicted of a first offense DUI in Wyoming, your license will be suspended for 90 days. You are required to install an IID for six months if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.15 or above. You will be notified by mail of mandatory ignition interlock requirements once information is entered on your driving record. To obtain your restricted license, you must also serve a jail sentence of up to six months and/or pay a fine of up to $750.

If you were convicted of a second offense DUI in Wyoming, your license will be suspended for one year. You are required to install an IID for one year. You will be notified by mail of mandatory ignition interlock requirements once information is entered on your driving record. To obtain your restricted license, you must also serve a jail sentence of seven days up to six months and pay a fine ranging from $250 to $750.

If you were convicted of a third offense DUI in Wyoming, your license will be suspended for three years. You are required to install an IID for two years. You will be notified by mail of mandatory ignition interlock requirements once information is entered on your driving record. To obtain your restricted license, you must also serve a jail sentence of 30 days up to six months and pay a fine ranging from $750 to $3,000.

Under any offense, you will also be required to file for SR-22 insurance, pay a $50 reinstatement fee and apply for a special ignition interlock restricted (IIR) driver’s license with a $100 IIR license fee. Once IIR restricted license is issued, any vehicle an offender operates must be equipped with an approved ignition interlock device for mandatory period required by law.

The suspension or revocation time period associated with an alcohol-related offense, or refusal, may be longer than the requirement to have the ignition interlock device. If an offender chooses to remove the device prior to the end of their suspension or revocation period, their driving privileges will again be withdrawn until the suspension or revocation period ends and all re-licensing requirements are met.

If you refuse to submit a chemical test your license will be suspended. On a first refusal your license will be suspended for six months, a second refusal is one year and a third refusal is two years. A second or subsequent refusal is considered to constitute a conviction – mandatory ignition interlock time period may be longer than that stated above.

Each case may vary depending on the details of your offense or court order. If you have questions, do not hesitate to give us a call at (877) 275-3974.

Back to State Requirements